Taisho 99: The Connected Āgama

Taisho No. 99 is the only complete translation of the Indian Saṃyukta Āgama (SA) to Chinese made by a team headed by Guṇabhadra in 443 CE. There are two partial Chinese translations of SA and 23 other independent translations that belong to this collection.

The Chinese Saṃyukta Āgama is similar to the Pali. It consists of many small sutras organized around similar topics. Unlike the Pali Saṃyutta Nikāya, Guṇabhadra’s Saṃyukta doesn’t have explicit subdivisions or sutra titles, but the texts are grouped by topic.

Presently, we have a project to translate the sutras between Nos. 748 to 800, which are parallel to the Pali Saṃyutta 45. The topic of this section of sutras is the eightfold path, mainly it’s relationship to other Buddhist concepts.

Below is a list of sutras translated thus far. Note that the sutra titles have been added to help the readers quickly scan the subjects covered.

  1. The First Sign
  2. Forerunners
  3. The Roots of Good and Evil
  4. The Right Undertaking
  5. Desire
  6. Deathlessness
  7. Requirements of Concentration
  8. [Like 752.]
  9. [Like 753.]
  10. [Like 754.]
  11. The Fear of Losing Mother or Son
  12. The Way to Ending the Three Sensations
  13. Three Disagreeable Things
  14. Learners and Non-Learners